Once Perfect

Romance

Genre – Contemporary Romance

Series – First in a yet to be completed series

Main Characters – Evelyn and Mateo.  She is the rich girl who suffers due to her father and extended family.  He is a man who also suffers at the hands of his father in order to keep his family together and their traditions in tact

Recommend this book to a friend? – ABSOLUTELY!

Read more by this author? – I hope there are many more books in this series

Rating? –  4 cups

 

  Book Description

His life was never easy. Hers wasn’t supposed to be this hard. They come from different worlds, but fate lures them together in a way neither expected in Cecy Robson’s raw, steamy New Adult debut—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn.

Evelyn Preston’s future once looked perfect—until her wealthy father was caught in an embezzlement scandal and took his own life. Alone and struggling to pay her college tuition and bills, Evelyn finds a job as a waitress at the ultra-hip nightclub Excess, where she used to have more in common with the privileged private-school clientele than her fellow staff members. But something attracts her to the sexy six-foot-four bouncer and underground MMA fighter Mateo Tres Santos. Although they’ve led different lives, their troubled pasts bonds them in both survival and love.

Mateo is ex-army who wound up in prison for assaulting the man who harmed his sister. Now he’s feeling the same protective impulse for this petite blond waitress. When Evelyn experiences a panic attack at the club, Mateo comes to her rescue. And when Mateo is wounded shielding her from a brawl, Evelyn returns the favor and comes to his aid.

As their attraction intensifies, Mateo is determined to find out what nightmares are lurking in Evelyn’s past—even if that means tackling his own to save her

 

Review

I enjoyed this book very much!  Here are two people from very different worlds, yet their circumstances are not that much different.  Evie has no family left and must learn to stand on her own after growing up with privilege and money. While she is almost broken at the beginning of the book we see her come out of her shell and protect those around her.   Mateo grew up in poverty and struggled, but from the first page we saw that he was a protector and leader for everyone surrounding him.  He had seen such violence as a young man, but you felt from the beginning how sweet and careful he was with Evie.

The writing was superb and I felt their challenges and fell in love with not only the main characters but the surrounding cast of friends and family.  I cannot wait to read about Sofia and Killean or Nicole and Ant along with a few others.

This is a WONDERFUL first book of this series.  I hope there are many more stories to come from Ms. Robson.

Copy received via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

About the Author

71mYZeI+jqL._UX250_

CECY (pronounced Sessy) ROBSON is the Penguin Random House New Adult author of Once Perfect, Once Loved, and Once Pure, and the award-winning author of the Weird Girls Urban Fantasy Romance series. A self-proclaimed professional napper, Cecy counts among her talents a jaw-dropping knowledge of useless trivia, the ability to make her hair big, and a knack for breaking into song despite her family’s vehement protests. A writer, registered nurse, and mother living in the South, Cecy enjoys spending time with her family and silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories.Connect with Cecy online at www.cecyrobson.com, twitter.com/cecyrobson or facebook.com/Cecy.Robson.Author

Advertisements

Dirty Talk

24642487

Genre – Erotic Romance

Series – No

Main Characters – Amy and Phil have been friends for some time now, but because of a bet, they come together and find love.

Recommend this book to a friend? – Yes

Read more by this author? – I would read more by this author

Rating? 3 cups

 

Book Description

Amy can’t believe she’s let herself be bullied into a write off with the odious Dave. Now she needs to produce twenty pages of a story by next Friday – the content is to be of a very particular nature!

Fortunately Amy has an advantage: she’s a secret – and voracious – reader of erotica and she knows just what turns her on! But when it comes to putting her own words down on paper embarrassment and nerves have left her with a severe case of writers block…

Enter her good friend Phil. While she’s always thought him too sexy to be true her crippling shyness has held her back. But with Phil as her willing muse, Amy’s reality is suddenly more erotic than any fantasy…

Review:

While I did enjoy this novella surrounding two friends-to-lovers characters, it seemed a bit rushed to me. The character development for Amy seemed to be quite extensive as we learned how shy and awkward she is, but I still had a lot of questions about Phil. And While Jules and Dave were the antagonists in this story, I never understood the friendship between the girls. I did enjoy this fast-paced read, which is probably why I was hoping it was a bit longer and more fleshed out. I do enjoy Jane O’Reilly’s writing and would like to read more in the future

Heat Club Inferno Book 1

91bBq-k1fNL._SL1500_

Genre – Contemporary Romance

Series – First in a yet to be completed series

Main Characters – Evelyn and Mateo.  She is the rich girl who suffers due to her father and extended family.  He is a man who also suffers at the hands of his father in order to keep his family together and their traditions in tact

Recommend this book to a friend? – ABSOLUTELY!

Read more by this author? – I hope there are many more books in this series

Rating? 4 cups

 Book Description

On the run from her abusive fiancé, ER doctor Mallory Bryant arrives at her sister’s Connecticut resort desperate for a place to restore balance to her life. But  Club Inferno is more than a haven for the rich and fashionable. Beneath its elegant facade, dominants and submissives play out their fantasies. At first, Mallory is wary of Max Spencer, the martial arts trainer acting as her bodyguard—until he introduces her to passion so intense she wants nothing more than to surrender to his touch.

As one of Club Inferno’s most skilled doms, Max enjoys taking Mallory to the limits of pleasure. It’s a dangerous proposition, and as their sensual games draw them into a relationship beyond the boundaries of pupil and master, Max starts spiraling out of control. But when Mallory’s violent past catches up with her, Max knows what he must do: draw her closer than ever before, even if it means risking a surrender of his own.

 

Review

I enjoyed this book very much!  Here are two people from very different worlds, yet their circumstances are not that much different.  Evie has no family left and must learn to stand on her own after growing up with privilege and money. While she is almost broken at the beginning of the book we see her come out of her shell and protect those around her.   Mateo grew up in poverty and struggled, but from the first page we saw that he was a protector and leader for everyone surrounding him.  He had seen such violence as a young man, but you felt from the beginning how sweet and careful he was with Evie.

The writing was superb and I felt their challenges and fell in love with not only the main characters but the surrounding cast of friends and family.  I cannot wait to read about Sofia and Killean or Nicole and Ant along with a few others.

This is a WONDERFUL first book of this series.  I hope there are many more stories to come from Ms. Robson.

Copy received via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

About the Author

41kW3z9d6VL._UX250_

USA Today Bestselling author, Jamie K. Schmidt is a hybrid author who has over thirty short stories published in small press and ezines, and a variety of novellas and books online. Her Club Inferno series from Random House has been in Amazon’s top 100 ebooks sold and Barnes and Noble’s top 10. She has a dragon paranormal romance series at Entangled Publishing. Book one of the Emerging Queens series is The Queen’s Wings.

Jamie holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree from the State University of New York at New Paltz in Secondary Education English, which is a fancy way of saying she went to college to teach high school English. When that didn’t pan out, she worked as a call center manager, a Tupperware consultant, a paralegal, and finally a technical writer for a major conglomerate company. She is an active member in the Romance Writers of America (RWA). When not writing, Jamie relaxes with a mug of hot tea and knits or makes beaded jewelry.